First Round of Names Announced for New Blue Plaques

The Canterbury Commemoration Society has worked closely with the Canterbury Society to choose, design and fund a new round of blue plaques commemorating significant people and events in the city’s colourful history. The first eleven plaques will be for

  • Sarah Baker 1736/7-1816   Theatrical entrepreneur and actor
  • Aphra Behn 1640-1689   Writer, poet, translator
  • Harry Bloom  1913-81   Lawyer, author and human rights campaigner
  • Canterbury to Whitstable Railway  1830   Terminus North Lane
  • Ian Robins Dury 1942-2000   Singer/songwriter, artist and actor
  • Elizabeth Elstob  1683-1756   Writer, scholar and translator
  • John Green Hall  1835-87   Architect, surveyor, Canterbury sewage system
  •    John Lyly  1553-1606    Playwright, parliamentarian
  • Michael Powell  1905-90   Filmmaker, directed A Canterbury Tale
  • Audrey Williams  1902-78   Archaeologist, uncovered the Roman pavement
  • Catherine Williamson  1896-1977   Politician, donated Tower House and Westgate Parks


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *