Canterbury Commemoration Society


The Society is run voluntarily by an Executive Committee comprising a chair, vice-chair, secretary, treasurer and up to eight other persons, all elected by the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The Committee may in addition appoint up to three co-opted members. The AGM also elects an honorary president, who chairs general meetings.

The Committee members, as the Society’s governing body, are the charity’s trustees in law. 

The Committee has appointed working groups to pursue particular projects, which often include Society members who are not trustees. 

The Society welcomes expressions of interest from members who would like to join the Committee or a working group, especially from individuals with experience in heritage, fund-raising, charity finance and communications. If you think you might be able to contribute, please get in touch through the contact page.

The AGM also elects an honorary president, and may also appoint one or more honorary vice-presidents.

Meet our Executive Committee

Stewart Ross

Stewart is a writer and historian who has lived in Canterbury for over 45 years. When moving to the city, he was astonished to find so little of city’s rich history commemorated in public monuments and works of art. He joined to Commemoration Society to try and rectify this.
Charlotte Cornell
Brian McHenry

Brian’s first degree was in Modern History at Oxford. History is his passion. He brings to the Society his experience as a government lawyer, a member of the Church of England Synod, and a Vicar. He was awarded the CBE in 2008 for public and voluntary service.
Alan Turner
Andrew Webster

Andrew moved to Canterbury in 1979 to become the Director of Finance at the Cathedral. He has always been involved in historical and archaeological matters. He was for many years a trustee of the Canterbury Archaeological Trust and Chairman of the Canterbury World Heritage Site Committee and is a trustee of ICOMOS-UK.

Helen Gillis

My childhood fascination with history was nourished by an OU Humanities degree and, as a librarian, working with old books and manuscripts. Later, studying Aphra Behn’s 'The Rover', I was surprised to learn that though born in or near Canterbury, the City had forgotten her. My earnest wish is to see a memorial to this remarkable literary pioneer.

Julian Waltho
David Reekie

Meet our President

Michael Steed

Retired academic, former City Councillor, I founded the Canterbury Commemoration Society in 1996 to promote the Ethelbert & Bertha statues; a trustee since then, President from 2016; chair 2018-21. I now want the CCS to promote an inspiring common memorial to all Canterbury’s Tudor martyrs, both Protestant and Catholic.